Timeline Stories

All timeline stories.

Adoption Of The New Departments.

On March 4th: The National Constituent Assembly adopts a new administrative division of France into 83 departments, districts, cantons, and communes. The names are chosen according to the geography and the rivers of France. Even today, the department is the base of the French territorial administration. March 12: The National…

Doubling the Seats For Third Estate.

On December 27, Necker announces that the representation of the number of deputies of the third estate will be doubled for the procedure of election and will be qualified to sit with the Third Estate (nobles and clergymen). Louis XVI accepts and validates the approves of the deputation of the…

French Revolution Timeline
Scroll to Top