Constitution of the Year III (Directory Rule).

Constitution Year III (Directory Rule).

On August 22: The National Convention, composed mainly of Girondins who had survived the Reign of Terror, approved a new Constitution of Year III that created France’s first bicameral legislature that was Directory Rule.

The legislative power in directory was committed to two assemblies, an upper and lower house of the parliament, the American and British models, and executive power to five directors, hence establishing the Directory.

On September 23, 1795: The Directory was approved by a national poll, the new Constitution of the Year III comes into effect.

French Revolution Timeline
Scroll to Top