Adoption Of The New Departments.

On March 4th: The National Constituent Assembly adopts a new administrative division of France into 83 departments, districts, cantons, and communes. The names are chosen according to the geography and the rivers of France. Even today, the department is the base of the French territorial administration.

March 12: The National Assembly approves the sale of the property of the church by municipalities

French Revolution Timeline
Scroll to Top