Tennis Court Oath

Tennis Court Oath.

On June 20th: On the orders of Louis XVI, officials locked out the assembly of deputies in the meeting hall. The newly formed National Assembly and its supporters then occupied the king’s indoor tennis court.

They take the famous “Tennis Court Oath”. They swore an oath under which they agreed not to separate until a Kingdom’s Constitution is established.

A majority of the clergy representatives soon joined them.

French Revolution Timeline
Scroll to Top